Category Archives: Eurovision

Eurovision 2011

Eurovision 2011 was shown in Australia from the 13th to 15th May 2011.

It was a great three nights of fun and entertainment. It had quite a few good songs as well.

It was great to have Italy back in the competition.

I’ve marked my calendar for next years show.

I would have liked to have seen Germany win again.  Lena’s song was very good.

There wasn’t much great songs as it was last year.

My selection of songs for this year are as follows:


Dino Merlin

Hotel FM


Mika Newton

Raphael Gualazzi


Alexej Vorobjov

Amaury Vassili

Zdob si Zdub

At first I didn’t really like Ireland’s entry.  Listening to it again, it was okay. Not number one but listenable. I’ve only seen Jedward once on the Jonathan Ross show some time ago.

Looking forward to next years contest.

One day I’ll get over to see Eurovision live in person.


Posted by on July 23, 2011 in Eurovision

1 Comment

Favourite Songs of Eurovision 2010

Eurovision will be on soon. It is the only thing on television I really look forward to each year.

I usually like about five or six songs from the years contest.  Most of the songs in the 2010 contest I really liked.

Below are my top favourites:

    Michael von der Heide – Il pleut de l’or (Switzerland)
    Sieneke – Ik Ben Verliefd (Sha-la-lie) (The Netherlands)
    Didrik Solli-Tangen – My Heart Is Yours (Norway)
    Peter Nalitch & Friends – Lost And Forgotten (Russia)
    3+2 – Butterflies (Belarus)
    Lena – Satellite (Germany)
    Juliana Pasha – It’s All About You (Albania)
    Daniel Diges – Algo Pequenito (Something Tiny) (Spain)
    Paula Seling & Ovi – Playing With Fire (Romania)
    Vukasin Brajic – Thunder And Lightning (Bosnia & Herzegovina)
    Giorgos Alkaios & Friends – Opa (Greece)


Below is the other songs I do like to listen to:

    Filipa Azevedo – Ha Dias Assim (Portugal)
    Aisha – What For (Latvia)
    Alyosha – Sweet People (Ukraine)
    Anna Bergendahl – This Is My Life (Sweden)
    Ansambel Zlindra & Kalamari – Narodnozabavni Rock (Slovenia)
    Chanee & n’evergreen – In a Moment Like This (Denmark)
    Eva Rivas – Apricot Stone (Armenia)
    Feminnem – Lako je Sve (Croatia)
    Gjoko Taneski – Jas Ja Imam Silata (FYR Macedonia)
    Hera Bjork – Je Ne Sais Quoi (Iceland)
    Josh Dubovie – That Sounds Good To Me (United Kingdom)
    Kristina Pelakova – Horehronie (Slovakia)
    Kuunkuiskaajat – Tyolki Ellaa (Finland)
    Malcolm Lincoln – Siren (Estonia)
    maNga – We Could Be The Same (Turkey)
    Marcin Mrozinski – Legenda (Poland)
    Milan Stankovic – Ovo je Balkan (This Is the Balkans) (Serbia)
    Miroslav Kostadinov – Angel Si Ti (You Are An Angel) (Bulgarien)
    Safura – Drip Drop (Azerbaijan)
    Sofia Nizharadze – Shine (Georgia)
    Sunstroke Project & Olia Tira – Run Away (Moldova)
    Thea Garrettt – My Dream (Malta)


I’m glad Lena won for Germany.

Would have been nice to have been there in person.  Maybe next year but depends on who wins this year.

Good luck to all of the countries who enter.  It is great Italy is back this year in the contest as well.



Posted by on March 24, 2011 in Eurovision